District Updates » 2024 E-H-S Awards Ceremony

2024 E-H-S Awards Ceremony

Photographs Courtesy of EHS Students CLeevence Erilus and Rachelle Nguyen

Excellence, Honor, and Success

Student and Staff Recognized at Annual Awards Program

Everett High School (EHS) held its annual Excellence, Honor, and Success Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 3, 2024, inside the Crimson Cafe, giving teachers the opportunity to recognize students for the positive attributes they bring to class every day.

Fifteen students and three educators received awards in one of the following categories:

Excellence:  Students who demonstrate excellence in academics or in another area such as art, music, athletics, community service, etc.

Honor: Students who uphold the core values of EPS and who demonstrate character, compassion, leadership, and/or service at EHS and in the community.

Success: Students who have exhibited a high degree of effort, growth, and/or resilience throughout the year.

Teachers nominated dozens of students for this year’s E-H-S awards, writing impassioned arguments on behalf of a wide range of students who possess an equally wide range of talents and traits. The selection committee had the difficult task of choosing 15 winners — three each from every grade, plus three “at-large”student winners  and three educators. 

The E-H-S Awards program was launched in 2011, and returned from a two-year COVID hiatus in the spring of 2022.
In addition, EHS Life Skills teachers Ms. Johnson and Mr. Callahan were recognized for their tireless dedication and professionalism. They were nominated by Nick Erban, who read a passionate tribute to his colleagues.

Former E-H-S Award winners Anthony Masucci and Gurkiran Kaur served as Master of Ceremonies, and lunch was prepared and served by the Culinary Arts Department.


9th Grade

Excellence: Sophia Almeida

Nominated by: Mr. Cagiano

Honor: Annabel Ibrahimi

Nominated by Ms. Pickowicz

Success: Mazzarine Jean

Nominated by Mr. Walsh

10th grade 

Excellence: Jean Baptiste Orelus

Nominated by Mr. Coughlin

Honor: Danica Pham

Nominated by Ms. Sullivan

Success: Genesis Falcon

Nominated by Ms. Cunningham

11th grade

Excellence: Anne Souza

Nominated by Mr. DeMarzo

Honor: Gisselle Beltran Gonzalez

Nominated by Dr. Seiders

Success: Emanuel Santiago

Nominated by Ms. Faison

12th grade

Excellence: Salina Pun

Nominated by Ms. Giordano

Honor: Abby Medilme

Nominated by Ms. Lomas

Success: Katherine Martinez Diaz

Nominated by Ms. Venezia

At-Large Recipients

Excellence: Sheila Duarte Monteiro

Nominated by Ms. Nightingale

Honor: Randy Maldonado

Nominated by Ms. MacWilliam, Ms. Kacvinsky

Success: Yasmin Alves

Nominated by Mr. Babineau

Staff Winners

Excellence: Michael Fineran

Nominated by Dr. Seiders

Honor: Gina Gennette

Nominated by Tammy Turners

Success: Siobhan Sullivan

Nominated by Mr. Cagiano, Ms. MacWilliam